Skip to content

Radical honesty

Aprilie 24, 2009

Have you ever smiled for too long, ‘till you’re aching?

I’m lying on this white metal bed, people coming in and going out the room. I’m surrounded by colourful flowers and smiling faces, wishing I could care.

You struggle to keep those smiles on your faces, while asking me how I feel and telling me I look so beautiful. „Oh, my! You seem to become more beautiful every year,” she shouts, in a fake, strident voice. They tell me that my eyes are the coulour of the flowers they brought and he caresses my hair saying it feels like silk. You ask me why I am so unusually silent. Youusedtobealrightwhathappened. Etceteraetcetera.

I strip away the blanket and get up, in my blue panties and my torn shirt, I pass by the sleeping lady with only one breast, slowly moving towards the mirror. The area near the sink smells of piss and toothpaste and flowers. I stare at my pale face, my hollow cheeks, my sunken eyes and the dark rings under. I bite my dry lips, noticing the new wrinkle that appeared in the right corner of my mouth. I touch the badly-sewn scar, which seems to be grinning at me, in the mirror, with all those uneven stitches. I am so skinny that I wouldn’t be surprised if I started floating.

And all of a sudden I feel like breaking the damned mirror and kick you all out of the room forever. So I can be with the breast-less woman, who never speaks a word.

6 comentarii leave one →
  1. Mr.W permalink
    Aprilie 24, 2009 10:10 am

    There are days when you feel like you wanna grab that breast-less woman’s one breast and days when, you know, don’t wanna. Strange.

  2. mimi permalink
    Aprilie 26, 2009 4:14 am

    beautiful text.

  3. nadaella permalink
    Aprilie 26, 2009 9:39 am

    one day i’m gonna kiss that scar away :*

  4. Aprilie 26, 2009 9:44 am

    oana belgiana is back in town!

Lasă un răspuns

